What brings me here, you ask?

Once upon a time, I wanted to be a writer. A professor once told me, “writers write.” Bam! Done! I can write. No problem. Except, life kept happening and being a writer and paying the bills was just not a reality that seemed willing to meet me half-way, so I did the sensible thing and got myself a Master’s in reading, because I love to read!

But, as it turns out, reading teachers were not in such high demand as I had been lead to believe. I had a kid and got married, life again. Kids are super expensive, so I took what was meant to be a temporary job at a soul-crushing corporate cube farm while I waited for teaching positions to open up. Six years later, the cube farm is still crushing my soul and my therapist and I have come to the conclusion that the only way to return my soul is to write.

I recently started looking into jobs for writers and everyone seems to want a writer with a strong social media presence. They all say to open an account for every media available and then be active, which is easier said than done when you’re working a full-time job and raising a kid while having to move your family because your landlord just  gave you 30-days to vacate so his son can move into the house. Oh! And the experts suggest being social, which I’m awesome at, not really. But hey, it’s time to leave my comfortable cocoon and live my dream, so let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

